More about the book

The Color of Food: Stories of Race, Resilience and Farming, challenges us to reflect on our movement for good food and food justice. The book aims to explore the issues of justice, and inclusivity in the food justice movement, while amplifying the role of communities of color and challenging the history and status quo of agricultural identity. Through sharing stories of farmers of color, The Color of Food teaches us that the good food movement is about more than buying local and protecting our soil, it’s about digging deep and discovering that true food sovereignty means a place at the table for everyone.

Source story about the 2021 selected book

Youth walking in a unplanted field

More about the author

Natasha Bowens Blair is a Black/Bi-Racial woman living out her passion on the farm she co-owns in Boonsboro, MD. She is mama to two little girls, wife to a 5th grade teacher in Frederick County and co-owner and operator of Native Mountain Farm, a place where fruit, medicinal herbs and flowers grow wild. She is also an author and community activist who has spent the last decade focusing on building empowerment and highlighting the importance of farming, food and storytelling in communities of color. Her book The Color of Food: Stories of Race, Resilience and Farming features stories and portraits of farmers and food activists from Black, Latina, Asian and Native communities across the country – stories that invite us to dig deep into race, culture and equity. Her work has garnered national attention and has been shared across renowned media outlets, universities and national conferences, and is honored in the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture. She currently commutes to the farm in Boonsboro and resides in Frederick where she is involved with several projects such as SOUL Street, Future Harvest CASA and Pay it Forward with Flowers.

Natasha Bowens Blair

Organizations Profiled in The Color of Food

A

African American Farmers of California: https://aafcalifornia.org/

Afroculinaria: https://afroculinaria.com/

Agricultura Network: https://www.agri-cultura.org/

American Indian Mothers: https://americanindianmothersinc.org/

Applied Research Center: https://arc.fiu.edu/

AYUDA: https://www.ayuda.com/

B

Black Family Land Trust: https://www.bflt.org/

Black Farmers and Agriculturalists Association: https://www.bfaa4us.org/

Black Oaks Center for Sustainable Living: https://www.blackoakscenter.org/

Black Urban Growers (BUGS): https://www.blackurbangrowers.org/

Boxcar Grocer: https://www.boxcar.com/grocery

C

Center for Diversity and Environment: https://www.cdeinspires.org/

Center for Global Justice: https://www.globaljusticecenter.org/

Coalición Rural: https://www.ruralco.org/

Coalition of Immokalee Workers: https://ciw-online.org/

Community 2 Community: https://www.foodjustice.org/events

D

Detroit Black Community Food Security Network: https://www.dbcfsn.org/

E

Earthworks Urban Farm: https://www.cskdetroit.org/earthworks/

East New York Farms!: https://ucceny.org/enyf/

F

Farms to Grow: https://www.farmstogrow.com/

Farmworker Association of Florida: https://floridafarmworkers.org/news/

Federation of Southern Cooperatives: https://www.federation.coop/

Filipino Advocates for Justice: https://aapifund.org/members/filipinos-advocates-for-justice/

Food Chain Workers Alliance (FCWA): https://foodchainworkers.org/

Food What?!: https://www.foodwhat.org/

Friends of the MST: https://mountainstoseatrail.org/

G

Groundswell International: https://www.groundswellinternational.org/category/blog/

GROW NYC: https://www.grownyc.org/

Grown in Detroit: http://detroitagriculture.net/our-work/grown-in-detroit/

H

Hmong Farmers Association: https://www.hmongfarmers.com/

Hopi Foundation: https://www.hopifoundation.org/

I

Indigenous Environmental Network: https://www.ienearth.org/

J

Just Food: https://www.justfood.org/

Just Harvest: https://justharvest.org/

L

La Mujer Obrera: http://www.mujerobrera.org/b

La Via Campesina: https://viacampesina.org/en/

M

Marshview Community Farm: https://marshviewcommunityorganicfarm.com/

Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences (MANRRS): https://www.manrrs.org/

Minority Landowner Magazine: https://www.minoritylandowner.com/

Mississippi Association of Cooperatives: https://mississippiassociation.coop/news/

N

National Black Farmers Association: https://www.nationalblackfarmersassociation.org/

National Family Farmers Coalition: https://nffc.net/

National Farm Worker Ministry: http://nfwm.org/

National Immigrant Farming Association (NIFI): https://www.nationalimmigrantfarminginitiativeinc.org/history-and-context

National Latino Farmers and Ranchers Association:  https://www.nlfrta.org/

National Women in Agriculture Association (NWIAA):  https://www.nwiaa.org/

Navdanya: https://www.navdanya.org/site/

NC Field: https://www.ncfield.org/

New Mexico Acequia Association: https://lasacequias.org/

North Leupp Family Farm: https://coloradoplateaufoundation.org/

Nuestras Raices: https://nuestras-raices.org/

P

Presbyterian Hunger Program: https://www.presbyterianmission.org/ministries/compassion-peace-justice/hunger/

R

RAFI: https://www.rafiusa.org/

Real Food Challenge: https://www.realfoodchallenge.org/

S

Southeastern African American Farmers Organic Network (SAAFON): http://saafon.org/

T

Three Sisters Farm: https://www.3sistersorganicfarm.com/

Traditional Native American Farmers Association: http://www.tnafa.org/

Truly Living Well: https://www.trulylivingwell.com/

W

White Earth Land Recovery: https://www.welrp.org/

WhyHunger: https://whyhunger.org/

Wisdom of the Elders: https://wisdomoftheelders.org/

V

Viva Farms: https://vivafarms.org/

W

W.K. Kellogg Foundation: http://communityfood.wkkf.org/